Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer

Professional development

Professional development courses can bring benefits to the smallest of start-ups and the largest of multinationals. No organisation can succeed without a knowledgeable and highly skilled workforce.

To help you ensure your staff are ready, we offer continuing professional development (CPD) courses for organisations of all types and sizes, from SMEs to charities to global corporates.

Features of our CPD courses

  • Courses can either be non-assessed or credit-bearing as required.
  • We offer flexible entry and exit on our postgraduate certificate, diploma and masters degrees.
  • Accredited study can give exemption from some professional examinations.
  • In order to align our courses with industry expectations, we work closely with many professional bodies, including IChemE, AMBA and EQUIS, IEE, Royal Pharmaceutical Society, IMechE, RIBA, College of Optometrists and CCAB. Some professional bodies can require evidence of CPD as a mandatory criterion for membership.

Our professional development courses span a range of subject areas and modes of study.  

To find our more about what professional development courses can do for your organisation, contact the Business Engagement Support Team.

Tel: +44 (0) 161 275 2227
Email: business@manchester.ac.uk
Address: Directorate of Research and Business Engagement, Second Floor, Christie Building, The University of Manchester, Oxford Road, Manchester, M13 9PL.

Alternatively, if you have a specific subject area in mind, get in touch with the relevant business development manager.

Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences

Sandra Crosbie – Business Engagement Manager – Engineering and Physical Sciences
Tel: +44 (0) 161 275 3062
Email: sandra.crosbie@manchester.ac.uk

Saq Rasul – Business Engagement Officer – Engineering and Physical Sciences
Tel: +44 (0) 161 306 3986
Email: saqab.rasul@manchester.ac.uk

Ivan Buckley – Graphene Project Manager – National Graphene Institute
Tel: +44 (0) 161 275 2441    
Email: ivan.buckley@manchester.ac.uk

Faculty of Humanities

Shanta Aphale – Business Engagement Manager – Humanities (including Manchester Business School)
Tel: +44 (0) 161 275 0294
Email: shanta.aphale@manchester.ac.uk

Faculty of Life Sciences

Victoria Hand – Research Business Manager – Life Sciences (currently on maternity leave)
Tel: +44 (0) 161 275 5249
Email: victoria.hand@manchester.ac.uk

Zoher Kapacee – Research Business Manager – Life Sciences
Tel: +44 (0) 161 275 1686
Email: zoher.kapacee@manchester.ac.uk

Faculty of Medical and Human Sciences

Catherine Headley – Business Development Manager – Medical and Human Sciences
Tel: +44 (0) 161 306 0637
Email: catherine.headley@manchester.ac.uk

Manchester Business School Executive Education Centre

Tel: +44 (0) 161 275 6543
Email: executive@mbs.ac.uk