Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Menu Share this content
Menu Search the University of Manchester siteSearch
Search type

Alternatively, use our A–Z index

Top honour for engineer

20 Jul 2009

A leading researcher from The School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering (EEE) has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

Prof Hugh McCann
Prof Hugh McCann

Prof Hugh McCann has been Professor of Industrial Tomography in the University of Manchester since 1996.

While at the University, Prof McCann has extended industrial tomography into the domain of specific chemical contrast, particularly by exploiting Infra-Red absorption spectroscopy in low-noise opto-electronic systems.

In 2007 he received the Maurice Beck Prize of the World Congress on Industrial Process Tomography in recognition of this work.

His current research portfolio is dominated by IR Chemical Species Tomography for combustion applications, and Electrical Impedance Tomography for biomedical applications. He has published more than 90 papers in peer-reviewed journals.

After completing BSc and PhD degrees at the University of Glasgow, Prof McCann worked at Manchester, CERN (Geneva) and DESY (Hamburg), where he lived for four years.

The JADE collaboration in which he worked at DESY was awarded a Special Prize of the European Physical Society in 1995 for discovery of the gluon in the early 1980s and elucidation of its properties.

In 1986, Prof. McCann joined the Royal Dutch/Shell Group’s Thornton Research Centre near Chester, and was the founding Group Leader of Shell’s specialist Engine Measurements group. His research on in-situ engine measurement technology was recognised in 1996 by the Arch T. Colwell Merit Award of the Society of Automotive Engineers.

Prof. McCann teaches measurement theory and instrumentation electronics. He was Head of the School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering (1999-2002) and directed the School’s submission to the 2008 Research Assessment Exercise, attaining second place in the UK for research quality.

He chaired the Virtual Centre for Industrial Process Tomography (2005-2009) and the UK Professors & Heads of Electrical Engineering (2003-2005), and is current Chairman of the IET Scholarships Committee (2006-2009).

"The Academy is an ambitious organisation," said Academy President Lord Browne of Madingley at the AGM. "But none of our success would be possible without our Fellows who give their time and world-class expertise so selflessly in order to lead our work."

Notes for editors

For more information please contact Jane Sutton at The Royal Academy of Engineering
Tel. 020 7766 0636 or Alex Waddington, Media Relations Officer, The University of Manchester, Tel 0161 275 8387.