2020-21 Embedded Systems Project winners presented awards by InstMC

On Thursday, 14 October 2021 six members of the winning team from last year's Embedded Systems Project were presented with their awards at the Institute of Measurement and Control (InstMC) North West's annual dinner.

The evening consisted of a three-course meal, and was attended by approximately 180 members of the institute. The victorious students received a certificate and gift voucher.

Both the attendance of the students and the prizes given were sponsored by the InstMC and Sella Controls – sponsors of the Embedded Systems Project.

The meal was attended by Dr Liam Marsh, coordinator of the Embedded Systems Project, and Professor William Heath, Head of the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering.

Dr Marsh was invited to introduce the group and to summarise their achievements, before the students were invited up to the stage for the presentation. He said: "The annual presentation of awards to winning teams is always a fantastic way to recognise the achievements of the students. It is an event that was sadly missed last year with the impact of Covid.

"This was the first Embedded Systems Project to take place remotely. At no point in the 2020-21 academic year were all of these students in the same country, let alone the same room; this makes their achievements all the more remarkable. I'm extremely pleased that with the help of the InstMC, and project sponsors Sella Controls, we have been able to recognise the achievements of these students after the difficulties of the last 18 months."

The Institute of Measurement and Control values the links that we have with universities. The work between the InstMC, companies and universities enable the sharing of knowledge in measurement, control and automation topics to inspire the engineers of the future. We are pleased to have been working with The University of Manchester for many years and look forward to many more years of working together.
EUR ING David Green BEng(hons) CEng InstMC, Local Section Chair, Central Northwest

Share this page