Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Menu Share this content
Menu Search the University of Manchester siteSearch
Search type

Alternatively, use our A–Z index

US honour for Manchester physicist

20 Jan 2010

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) has honoured a ground-breaking Manchester physicist for his exceptional scientific achievements.

Prof Andre Geim
Prof Andre Geim

Professor Andre Geim is one of 17 individuals who will receive awards in the areas of biology, chemistry, geology, astronomy and psychology.

Prof Geim, Langworthy and Royal Society 2010 Anniversary Research Professor of Physics at the University of Manchester, is the recipient of the prestigious John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science.

The award is bestowed for noteworthy and distinguished accomplishments in any field of science within the charter of the NAS.

Prof Geim, who is the only non-US recipient of an award, has been honoured for his experimental realisation and investigation of graphene, the two-dimensional form of carbon, which he discovered in 2004 with Dr Kostya Novoselov.  

Established by the American Telephone and Telegraph Co, the Carty Award – a medal and $25,000 prize recognising noteworthy and distinguished accomplishment in any field of science – is being presented in the area of physics in 2010.

Previous winners of the award include Nobel Prize Winner Sir William Lawrence Bragg, who was appointed Langworthy Professor of Physics at the University of Manchester in 1919 and held this post till 1937.

An awards ceremony for Prof Geim and the other recipients will take place on April 25 during the Academy’s annual meeting.

The US-based National Academy of Sciences is a private, non-profit honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare.

Since 1863, the National Academy of Sciences has served to "investigate, examine, experiment, and report upon any subject of science or art" whenever called upon to do so by any department of the government.

Notes for editors

For more information about the awards please contact Maureen O'Leary, Director of Public Information / Alison Burnett, Media Assistant, Office of News and Public Information, Tel 00 202-334-2138, e-mail