Materials alumni recognised at industry awards

Two alumni from the School of Materials have received awards from the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3).

Dr Kate Thornton CEng CSci MIMMM received a Silver Medal in recognition of the outstanding contribution she has made to materials science – with her work supporting younger members of IOM3 highlighted.

Dr Thornton, who now works at speciality chemicals company Croda International, is one of the youngest vice-presidents the IOM3 has ever had, due to the initiatives she has driven. This includes her role in setting up the Institute's Early Career Mentoring scheme and her provision of networking opportunities for young members.

At Croda, Dr Thornton achieved significant cost reductions during her time as Process Development team leader by reducing the amount of raw material used by 60%, and by identifying a new chemical that helped improve the effectiveness of the process.

Another Manchester alumnus to be recognised by IOM3 was Dr Rachael Ambury CEng CSci FIMMM, who won the Robert Perrin Award.

Dr Ambury is a Senior Scientist and Innovation Project Lead at manufacturing company Element 6. Here she has developed a successful outreach programme to inspire and promote STEM subjects – and materials science in particular - in schools.

In addition to the Materials alumni, the School’s Professor Robert Young of the National Graphene Institute was honoured with the IOM3 Platinum Medal – one of the Institute’s Premier Awards.

“I have now been active in research for 50 years and had the privilege of being able to work upon a number of exciting new materials. It has been a particular pleasure to be able to contribute to the research upon graphene in The University of Manchester over recent years,” he said.

Finally, University collaborator Dr Roberto Morana CEng FIMMM of BP picked up the Grunfeld Memorial Award and Medal for his work with academics to develop tests to evaluate whether materials are resistant to hydrogen-assisted cracking.

Congratulations to all the winners.

Share this release

Share on: Twitter
Share on: Facebook
Share on: LinkedIn