Materials publication earns 2020 ASM Henry Marion Howe Medal

A publication involving two professors from The University of Manchester has been named recipient of the ASM Henry Marion Howe Medal for 2020.

Entitled “In Situ Study of the Stress Relaxation During Aging of Nickel-Base Superalloy Forgings”, the paper was co-authored by Professor Philip Withers and Professor Michael Preuss - both of the Department of Materials - and Pierre-Emmanuel Aba-Perea, Thilo Pirling, Anna Paradowska and Dong Ma.

The ASM Henry Marion Howe Medal is awarded in memory of Dr Henry Marion Howe, a distinguished teacher, writer, metallurgist and consultant, to honor the author(s) whose paper has been selected as the best of those published in a specific volume of Metallurgical and Materials Transactions.

Selected by the Board of Trustees of ASM International, the prestigious prize was first awarded in 1922. It is to be presented at ASM's first annual International Materials, Applications and Technologies (IMAT) conference, scheduled for September this year in Cleveland, Ohio, but dependent on circumstances relating to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

Congratulations to Professor Philip Withers, Professor Michael Preuss and the rest of the team.

Share this release

Share on: Twitter
Share on: Facebook
Share on: LinkedIn