Subject-specific scholarships

There are a number of subject-specific scholarships available for undergraduates at The University of Manchester.

The Faculty of Humanities

Alliance Manchester Business School scholarships

The Social Responsibility Scholarship will be awarded to incoming Alliance Manchester Business School students starting their studies in September 2020.

We will award five undergraduate social responsibility scholarships to UK/EU students and three undergraduate social responsibility scholarships to international students in 2020. These awards are worth £2,000 per year across three years of study (students will not receive the scholarship while on placement or exchange).

Eligibility criteria: UK/EU and international students achieving AAA at A-level (or equivalent) who are able to demonstrate a significant contribution and commitment to social responsibility. Successful applicants will be selected based on:

  • academic performance
  • a written application (maximum 1,000 words)

You can apply for a scholarship as soon as you have received your final results.

The deadline for applications is 31 August 2020.

For more information on the application process, please visit the Alliance Manchester Business School.

History and related subject scholarships

The Elsie Farrar undergraduate bursary is available to UK undergraduate students registered on a History undergraduate degree course, including History, Politics and Modern History, Modern History and Economics, History and Languages, History and Sociology).

There are ten awards of £1,000 available. Recipients will be selected based on household income data provided by the Student Loans Company.

Please email Gail Dickinson for further information.

The Faculty of Science and Engineering

The Faculty of Science and Engineering offer a range of scholarships and bursaries at Faculty and at subject level. In addition, there are bursaries and scholarships available for subjects within Science and Engineering, sponsored by external companies.

For more information, please explore the following departmental fees and funding pages:

The School of Engineering

Department of Chemical Engineering and Analytical Science

Department of Computer Science

Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Department of Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering

School of Natural Sciences

Department of Chemistry

Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences

Department of Materials

Department of Mathematics

Department of Physics and Astronomy