EU students

Following the UK’s formal departure from the EU, the UK and the EU entered into a Transition Period; this will end on 31 December 2020.

The UK government announced on 23 June 2020 that EU, other EEA and Swiss nationals will no longer be eligible for home fees or Student Finance England support for courses starting in the academic year 2021/22 and beyond.   

The UK government has also advised that there will be a new immigration system (which will come into force from 1 January 2021) for EU students following the end of the Transition Period. Anyone intending to come to the UK from January 2021 onwards will need to apply for a visa under the new Student Route; the UK government has published a guide for EU students on this new points-based immigration system, to help you get started. 

Date of last update: 15 October 2020. The information above was correct to the best of our knowledge at the time of writing, but may be subject to change.