Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Menu Search the University of Manchester siteSearch
Search type

Alternatively, use our A–Z index

Helen Gleeson - personal details

Contact details

 Helen Gleeson

Role: Professor of Physics

Tel: 0161 275-4071

Location: Schuster Building-G8
The School of Physics and Astronomy
The University of Manchester
M13 9PL





  • 1983 - BSc Joint Hons (Maths and Physics) Manchester 1st class
  • 1986 - PhD in Physics (Manchester)
  • 1989 - Lecturer in Physics (Manchester) (SL in 1996 and Reader in 2000)
  • 1997 - Visiting Flora Stone Mather Professor, Case Western University, USA
  • 2003 - Professor of Physics, Manchester University.
  • 2002-2008:Associate Dean for Research, Faculty of Engineering and Physical Science, University of Manchester
  • 2008–2010:Head of School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Manchester.
  • 2009: Awarded OBE for Services to Science in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List.
  • 2012: Awarded the Holweck Prize (Societe Francaise de Phyisique and the Institute of Physics).
  • 2013: Awarded the G W Gray Medal (British Liquid Crystal Society)

I am an experimental physicist and my research is aimed primarily at understanding self-assembling and self-ordering materials, especially chiral liquid crystals. In pursuing this aim, I have developed several techniques that have allowed novel aspects of liquid crystal physics to be investigated. Much of my recent work has involved the use of state of the art optical and x-ray techniques which allow detailed insight into molecular ordering and structural deformations in liquid crystals and device. I was awarded the inaugural Cyril Hilsum Medal by the British Liquid Crystal Society for my contributions to liquid crystals in 2006.

I have published over 120 papers in refereed journals, written 6 chapters in books and published 6 patents. I have supervised 19 PhD and 7 MSc graduates of whom 3 have won prestigious awards (two were winners of the British Liquid Crystal Society Young Scientist of the Year award (1998 and 2004), and one won the International Liquid Crystal Society Glenn Brown Award for best thesis).



  • Fellow of the Institute of Physics
  • Member of the British Liquid Crystal Society
  • Vice Chair of the International Liquid Crystal Society