Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer

Nobel laureates

The University attracts world-renowned researchers and teachers and boasts no fewer than 25 Nobel Prize winners amongst its current and former staff and students.

Current academic staff include Nobel laureates John Sulston FRS (Institute for Science, Ethics and Innovation) and Joseph Stiglitz (Brooks World Poverty Institute), leading British novelist Martin Amis (Centre for New Writing) and political scientist Robert Putnam (Harvard/Manchester Institute for Social Change).

In 2010, Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov were awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics for their discovery of graphene – the world's thinnest material.

Previous and existing Nobel laureates

Nobel laureateArea of research
JJ Thomson Physics
Ernest Rutherford Chemistry
William Lawrence Bragg Physics
Niels Bohr Physics
Archibald V Hill Physiology
CTR Wilson Physics
Arthur Harden Chemistry
James Chadwick Physics
Walter Norman Haworth Chemistry
George de Hevesy Chemistry
Robert Robinson Chemistry
Patrick Maynard Stuart Blackett Physics
John Cockcroft Physics
Linus Carl Pauling Chemistry and Peace
Alexander Todd Chemistry
Melvin Calvin Chemistry
John Richard Hicks Economic Sciences
Nevill Francis Mott Physics
Arthur Lewis Economic Sciences
John Charles Polanyi Chemistry
Michael Smith Chemistry
Joseph E Stiglitz Economic Sciences
(current Director,
Brooks World Poverty Institute)
John Sulston

Physiology or Medicine
(current Director, Institute for Science, Ethics and Innovation)

Andre Geim Physics
Konstantin Novoselov Physics