Professor Denise Osborn awarded the annual Royal Economics Society Medal

Professor Denise Osborn

Professor Denise Osborn, Emeritus Professor at The University of Manchester has been awarded the annual Royal Economics Society Medal for Services to the Economics Profession.

This prestigious prize is awarded to recognise those who have made an outstanding and lasting contribution to the economics profession in one or more of three dimensions: promoting economics, supporting economists; improving diversity.

Professor Osborn was the first woman to be appointed Professor of Econometrics in the UK. Formerly a member of staff at the University for 38 years, she became an Emeritus Professor in 2015. During her time at Manchester, she published more than 80 papers and one book, with many international collaborators.

Throughout her career, Professor Osborn made an exceptional contribution to the Leverhulme Trust as a longstanding member of the Leverhulme Research Awards Advisory Committee and she helped the Trust allocate prestigious prizes and awards, including The Philip Leverhulme Prizes and the Leverhulme Visiting Professorship awards.

Professor Osborn has also served as the Inaugural Chair of the RES Women’s Committee from 1996-1998 and along with others initiated the first survey of the position of women in the economics profession. Subsequently, she was appointed RES Secretary-General from 2015-2022 and led the Society through a transformative period of change.

Royal Economics Society President Professor Mary Morgan who chaired this year’s award panel said:

Professor Osborn’s contributions as our Secretary General have proved absolutely critical to our Society over the last decade.  She was the prime mover not only in modernising our governance, but also in widening our active reach beyond academia and promoting a diverse economics profession.

Professor Denise Osborn will receive her medal at this year’s RES Annual Conference in March, more information is available on their website.

Share this page