Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Menu Share this content
Menu Search the University of Manchester siteSearch
Search type

Alternatively, use our A–Z index

Charitable status

The University of Manchester’s status as an exempt charity is derived from the Charities Act 2011. We are responsible to the Office for Students, which is charged, as our principal regulator, with monitoring its compliance with charity law obligations.

The University is aware of its responsibilities as a charity to act for the public benefit and has had due regard to the Charity Commission’s public benefit guidance. The objects of the University, as set out in the Royal Charter awarded in 2004, are “to advance education, knowledge and wisdom by research, scholarship, learning and teaching, for the benefit of individuals and society at large".

  • Download our statement on public benefit (PDF document, 392KB), extracted from the financial statements for the year ended 31 July 2017.

Corporate documents

Download the University Charter (PDF document, 21KB) or visit our corporate documents page to download our full financial statements, up to and including the year ended 31 July 2017.

Trustees of the University

The trustees of the University as at 1 September 2017 were as follows:

  • Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell, FRS, FMedSci, President and Vice-Chancellor
  • Mr Alex Tayler, General Secretary of the Students’ Union 
  • Ms Dapo Ajayi, BPharm
  • Mr Edward M Astle, MA, MBA, Chair
  • Mr Gary Buxton, BA, MBE
  • Mr Michael Crick, BA
  • Mr Colin Gillespie, BSc, FCA
  • Dame Susan Ion, OBE, BSc, PhD Feng, FIMMM, FINucE, Deputy Chair
  • Mr Paul Lee, DL, MA, LLM
  • Dr Neil McArthur, MBE, CEng, FIMechE, FIET
  • Ms Isabelle Perrett, MA
  • Mr Robin Phillips, BA
  • Mr Andrew Spinoza, BA, MCIPR
  • Dr John Stageman, OBE, PhD
  • Dr Angela Strank, BSc, PhD
  • Mr Nick Hillman, MA
  • Professor Aneez Esmail MFPHM, MRCGP, FRCP, PhD
  • Professor Colette Fagan PhD
  • Professor Danielle George, MBE, PhD
  • Dr Reinmar Hager MSc, PhD
  • Dr Caroline Jay BSc, PhD
  • Professor Silvia Massini, PhD
  • Professor Nalin Thakkar BDS, MSc, PhD, FRCPath
  • Mr Shumit Mandal
  • Ms Rosalyn Webster 

The following members of the Board of Governors have declared trusteeships as follows:

Mr Alex Tayler  Trustee, University of Manchester Students' Union
Mr Edward Astle Vice-Chair, Shannon Trust 
Mr Paul Lee Chairman, Royal Exchange Theatre

Feoffee (Trustee), Chetham's School of Music
Dr Neil McArthur Chairman, Trustee, Hamilton Davies Trust
Dr John Stageman Chairman of Trustees, MRCT
Ms Rosalyn Webster Trustee, Burnage Academy for Boys

Linked charities

The University of Manchester completed a review of linked charities in 2011. The review resulted in the declaration in the financial statements of one linked charity: The Friends of the Whitworth.

Contact us

The University of Manchester
Oxford Road
M13 9PL