The Senate plays a key role in the governance of The University of Manchester. Subject to the authority of the Board, it acts as the University’s principal academic authority.

Senate is responsible to the Board of Governors for the promotion of research, the regulation and monitoring of standards in teaching, and the regulation of discipline of students of the University.

Membership of the Senate

The Senate has 70 members (PDF document, 365KB). A third of these are designated ex officio and reserved for those with academic management responsibilities centrally and in the Faculties. The remaining two-thirds are elected academic members (professorial and non-professorial) and student representatives.