Academics LEAP into HEA fellowships for teaching excellence

Four academics from the University of Manchester’s Faculty of Humanities have been recognised at the latest outing of the Leadership in Education Awards Programme (LEAP) Recognition Panel for their HEA fellowship awards.

The meeting, which took place on 24 January 2019, awarded Advance HE Fellowships to colleagues across the University to mark its commitment to enhancing the student experience and delivering exceptional teaching and learning.

In the School of Law, Isil Aral was awarded a Fellowship, while Sarah Devaney and Catherine Stanton were each awarded Senior Fellowships, and Deborah Madden of the School of Arts, Languages and Cultures was awarded a Fellowship.

The LEAP is accredited by AdvanceHE to award Associate, Fellowship, Senior and Principal HEA Fellowships and is open to all staff who influence teaching and learning at an institutional, national and international level.

Since the programme was launched in 2016, colleagues across the University have been evidencing their teaching and learning excellence to line them up for formal national teaching awards.

“LEAP is a fantastic way for colleagues to reflect on the teaching and the support they provide for students and gain a nationally-recognised award,” said Prof Judy Williams, University Academic Lead for LEAP. “It has also enabled people to share best practice and make connections across the University.”

The LEAP programme runs twice per year and will be accepting applicants from a LEAP Information Session on 2 October 2019. To find out more, or to book a place on the session, please visit LEAP.

Share this page