The Finance Committee

The Finance Committee has responsibility for oversight of financial strategy and viability, preparation of financial statements, oversight of University subsidiaries and management of capital projects and university investments.


Mrs Caroline Johnstone (Chair)
Dr Neil McArthur
Mr Richard Solomons
Philippa Hird
The President and Vice-Chancellor (ex officio)
The General Secretary of the Students’ Union (ex officio)
Chair of Board of Governors (ex officio)

Kate Brown (Secretary)

Terms of reference

The Finance Committee terms of reference was approved by the Board of Governors in May 2021 and contains:

  • authority and objective;
  • primary duties and responsibilities;
  • constitution and membership;
  • appendix.        

Meeting dates for the year

  • Wednesday, 13 October 2021
  • Monday, 8 November 2021
  • Wednesday, 19 January 2022
  • Wednesday, 6 April 2022
  • Wednesday, 22 June 2022


All downloadable documents are PDFs.