Professor Gary Younge wins Orwell Prize for Journalism 2023

Written by: Joe Stafford

Award-winning author, broadcaster and Professor of Sociology, Gary Younge, has won The Orwell Prize for Journalism 2023. 

Formerly a columnist at The Guardian, Gary is an editorial board member of the Nation magazine and the Alfred Knobler Fellow for Type Media.

Yasmin Alibhai-Brown was chair of the judging panel, and she was joined by Katy Balls, Kurt Barling, Lindsey Hilsum and Ed Thomas. 

The panel commented "There was one clear winner for the panel - it was a unanimous decision - with judges praising the work for its long form elements and maturity - a journalist who throughout his career has shown a commitment to exploring, explaining and challenging his audience - his work in this award 'takes us to uncomfortable places but with clarity, humanity and empathy’.”

The three winning pieces are:

·        Gary Younge: how racism shaped my critical eye

·        Lest we remember: How Britain buried its history of slavery

·        Facts that matter podcast

The Orwell Prizes are awarded every year to the writing and reporting which best meets the spirit of George Orwell's own ambition 'to make political writing into an art'.

Gary joined The University of Manchester in 2020 from The Guardian, where he was appointed US correspondent in 2003, before becoming their editor-at-large in 2015. Gary’s latest book is a collection of his journalism, Dispatches from the Diaspora: From Nelson Mandela to Black Lives Matter.

Share this page