Nobel laureates

The University of Manchester has a history of attracting world-renowned researchers and teachers. We boast no fewer than 25 Nobel Prize winners amongst our current and former staff and students.

Current academic staff include Nobel laureates Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov, who were both awarded the 2010 Nobel Prize in Physics for their discovery of graphene – the world's thinnest material.

Nobel laureateArea of research
JJ Thomson Physics
Ernest Rutherford Chemistry
William Lawrence Bragg Physics
Niels Bohr Physics
Archibald V Hill Physiology
CTR Wilson Physics
Arthur Harden Chemistry
James Chadwick Physics
Walter Norman Haworth Chemistry
George de Hevesy Chemistry
Robert Robinson Chemistry
Patrick Maynard Stuart Blackett Physics
John Cockcroft Physics
Alexander Todd Chemistry
Melvin Calvin Chemistry
Hans Albrecht Bethe Physics
John Richard Hicks Economic Sciences
Nevill Francis Mott Physics
Arthur Lewis Economic Sciences
John Charles Polanyi Chemistry
Michael Smith Chemistry
Joseph E Stiglitz Economic Sciences
John Sulston Physiology or Medicine
Andre Geim Physics
Konstantin Novoselov Physics